Alex Raisbeck – Rediscovering the grave of Liverpool’s first superstar

 

raisbeckportrait

Alex Raisbeck deserves his place in the Pantheon of Anfield greats. The Scottish-born centre-back was Liverpool’s inspirational captain, making 341 appearances for the club, leading them to two titles, including its first in 1901. He also represented his country eight times, and was renowned for his athleticism and great timing.

raisbecksketch

After Anfield, Alex played for Partick Thistle and Hamilton Acedemical, later moving into management with Hamilton, Bristol City, Halifax Town, Chester and Bath City. He would return to Liverpool in the capacity of official scout, before passing away in 1949.

After researching his life and career, I came across a Western Daily Press article from September 1949, reporting on the money left by Alex in his will (an sum of £276 18s). The article also included his address in Liverpool, on Bingley Road, Anfield to be exact. From this, I approached The Friends of Anfield Cemetery, giving them all the information that I had on Alex, in the hope that they could confirm the burial there. It didn’t take long for the confirmation – both Ray and Steve were there with maps and photographs. It was clear from what they told me and from the images, that the headstone was in a very weathered state; certainly not fitting for an Anfield legend. I instantly felt the need to put this right and along with the Friends of Anfield Cemetery, we are making headway in a project to rededicate the grave. I am working on the Raisbeck family tree, already linking-up with branches here in the UK as well as the USA.

alexraisbeck

 

4 thoughts on “Alex Raisbeck – Rediscovering the grave of Liverpool’s first superstar

  1. Greetings from the USA! Alex Raisbeck was my great grandfather’s first cousin. I am part of the American branch of the family and live in Mocksville, North Carolina. I look forward to following efforts to rededicate the grave. My young nephew (age 12) will be coming to London next spring with his club team to play two matches. Perhaps a side trip is in order. Cheers!
    Rob Raisbeck

    Like

  2. Greeting from the USA. Alex Raisbeck was my great grandfather’s first cousin. I am part of the American branch of the family and live in Mocksville, North Carolina. I look forward to following efforts to rededicate the grave. My young nephew (age 12) will be coming to London next spring with his club team to play two matches. Perhaps a side trip is in order. Cheers!
    Rob Raisbeck

    Like

  3. Alex Raisbeck was my grandfather and my father, Robert Douglas (97) , is the only survivor of his 13 children. I was sad to read in your article in the Echo that his grave is in disrepair. I’m sure my father would also be upset and would wish to help. I live in Devon but would like to represent my father if a rededication is planned. Perhaps you could keep me informed so I can update him on your progress. Many thanks.
    Doug Raisbeck

    Like

Leave a comment